Gettin’ my garden on.

May 28, 2011

Today, Jamie offered to give me a “mommy’s day out” given that I’ve been cooped up with four little monsters…um, I meant to say precious darlings : ) I took the opportunity to go to the spa, get my hair done, went clubbing with the girls, got an online degree in Italian and started my own ice cream shoppe in town.  Or, maybe I’m just kidding and I really spent my one day off to go to the new Menard’s in Davison, bought garden supplies, went grocery shopping at the exotic Meijer in Lapeer and then came home to clean out the fridge and then outside to work on the front yard!  So the latter is not as exciting to most people, but when your goal is to be a full-time stay-at-home mom and super wife, prancing around in mulch that smells like cow dung can be quite refreshing! It really felt good to get my hands dirty and do things with my body that I haven’t been able to do for the last 10 months. Sadly, it’s taken six years of us living here to finally get our front yard looking decent.  I suppose having the neighbors across the street build a pond with a fountain in their front yard within their first year living here kind of lit the fire under our hostas!!

“Before” Photos of the Front:

“After” Photo of the Front:

Leave a comment