Fire Truck Parade

May 29, 2011

Despite the weird housing market in my neighborhood with people moving in and out, we have been fortunate to have some pretty cool neighbors.  Our next door neighbors invited us to a fire truck parade and festival in Rochester today.  They rebuild fire trucks and participate in events where they can show the fruit of their labor. We accepted their invitation because I knew for sure the boys would be excited about riding in a fire truck AND being in a parade. Jorja and I just went along for the ride!  We all had a great time and can’t wait for the next event in Frankenmuth.  I will let everyone know the exact date and I encourage anyone with children to attend, especially since my neighbors said that the Frankenmuth show will be even better than Rochester!

Jake, Jorja and Jagger hang out inside the fire truck.

Jagger got to ring the bell on an old fire truck with the help of a retired fire fighter

Jake gets a special spot to sit in during the parade.

The kids were pooped when we got home.  We had planned on seeing a free “Strength Team” show in Lapeer in the evening, but the kids were nervous about going out in the storm, so we hung out at home.  I love those times when we can just sit around and relax without having to plan anything or run around.

These are the kind of moments I cherish the most!

After dinner, I had a surprise for the kids.  You know how every kid is alway curious about what beer tastes like and wants to try some?  I know my mom always let me have some of the foam, but I decided to give the kids more than they bargained for!  Earlier, I bought some cream soda that was in brown bottles and collaborated with Jamie to play a great prank on my little rugrats.  Jamie had his beer for the evening and, of course, the kids noticed.  So, I gathered them together and told them I had a surprise for them.  I brought out the cream soda and told them they had my permission to drink as much beer as they wanted!  Ok, I DEFINITELY do not sound like any kind of supermommy right now, but when you have four kids, you have to find your own way to have fun! And, anyone who knows me well knows that this kind of stunt is right up my alley! Jake was the first to respond with an emphatic “NOOOOOO!!”.  Jorja just kept looking at me like “at what point will she say she is kidding” (she knows her mommy pretty well!). And Jagger…well, he just grabbed the bottle and slammed it! (why am I not surprised). Once Jagger paved the way, Jorja did not hesitate to gulp hers, but Jake firmly denied the offer to drink the “beer”. Eventually, he figured out the trick and drank it.  I made sure to tell Jorja and Jagger that this is definitely NOT what beer tastes like and we reviewed the legal drinking age!

This was their initial reaction to being offered "beer".

 

Jake and Jorja giggle nervously as their little brother chugs the "beer"

 

At this point, they all know it's cream soda...it's STILL funny to watch them drink what looks like beer!

 

Jagger drinks Jorja under the table!

 

Jemma's reaction when we told her that her siblings were drinking beer!

Leave a comment