I got a message for yoooooooooooooooo

June 16, 2011

We are making the most of our rainy day.  That is, if making the most of a day includes getting dressed late, watching lots of Cat in the Hat on PBS and talking about our fantasy road trip.  We have been talking a lot about just getting in the car and driving Route 66 until we get to Arizona.  Don’t ask me why I have been so obsessed with Arizona.  It all started when I got so sick while being pregnant with Jemma.  I believe it was during one of the “chill” stages of my fever when I really wished I could be in the hot sun without any humidity or rain or clouds.  I haven’t been able to stop thinking about Arizona ever since and I thought I could replace my desire for dry heat with an infrared sauna, but it just hasn’t happened.  While sitting at the kitchen table this morning, Jake and Jorja started talking about Arizona and the animals they might see there.  Jake said “there are scorpions there that can kill you, but I don’t care, I’ll have fun anyway!”.  I almost fell out of my chair.  What an optimist he is turning out to be!!

Oh great! How do explain to your two-year old that it is not ok to throw his socks in the garbage?  Jorja mentioned that her sock had a hole in it so I told her to throw them in the garbage right away. Of course everything Jorja does, Jagger has to do, so while I wasn’t paying attention, Jagger threw his perfectly good socks away. Then he comes prancing over to me, ever so proudly, declaring “I frow socks in gardage!” (that’s exactly how he pronounced it!).  When I tried to explain that his socks are just fine and dug them back out, he threw himself to the floor crying “NO, sock in gardage…now, mommy do it!”.  I am sorry Jagger, but my socks are just fine! Luckily, Jorja was able to distract him with his favorite rendition of the Oompa Loompa song from “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” that is supposed to go “Oompa Loompa doompadee doo I’ve got another puzzle for you Oompa Loompa doompadah dee
If you are wise you’ll listen to me”.  Jagger’s version goes something like this “dupa, dupa dupa dee do, I got meshsage foh yooooooooo” (obvious emphasis on the “you”).

Leave a comment